Crazy kids

My running mad children surpassed themselves today.  First of all Becky did the Eastbourne Beachy Head Marathon.  Its a tough one. The route is VERY hilly with lots of tracks and forrest trails and covers the area of Beachy Head and Seven Sisters.  26 hard miles.  The organisers say you should add at least 40 mins to your usual marathon time to allow for the challenging route.  Becky did the London Marathon in 3 hrs 25 mins but today she took 5 hrs 29 mins. I have added a photo in my Extras.

Neil went one better.  He took part in the The Thames Trot Ultra
-a  tough 50 mile ultra run along the River Thames from Oxford to Henley - often through thick mud. There was a time limit of 12 hours - Neil wasn't even sure he would finish never mind being under 12 hours.  He almost gave up at 20 miles  ... but as usual for him he never gave up.  His finish time was 9 hours 52 mins.  I can't imagine being on the road for that length of time.  Madness.  He's down in Oxford by himself as it was easier that way.  He will return home tomorrow.  I bet he sleeps well tonight - he's in an Airbnb.

I think Becky and Neil's activities today could fit Silly Saturday hosted by admirer

Musical link - Born To  RUN -  not by Bruce Springstein but Frankie Goes To Hollywood.

By comparison I had a fairly quiet day.  Got the bus to Asda and did a bit of food shopping.  Needed some ingredients for something I had in mind making for Taster Night at Slimming Group on Monday.  But Asda didn't have everything I wanted so I had to have a rethink.

Weather today was dry when I went out but bitterly cold.

Steps today - 6,318

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.