Not a salmon in sight...!

After Wednesday's abortive attempt to photograph leaping salmon at Hexham weir, and having woken up early to a lovely clear morning, I jumped in the car again and drove to Hexham - after all "Professor Google" had told me that early morning after rain was a good time to see them jump. I spent over an hour there and never even saw one salmon - even worse than Wednesday when at least we saw about half a dozen salmon leap even though I didn't manage to capture one on camera.

Maybe I'll leave it until next year and have another go.

Undeterred I took the chance to grab some other shots for today's blip, and I've chosen this photo of the Egger Woodchip works just downstream from the weir, showing that even an industrial site can look quite pretty in the early morning light - especially when there's some autumn colour in the nearby trees. You could say that the plant is a bit of an eyesore (and I have said that myself) but it does give over 600 employees a job and produces approximately 630,000m3 of raw chipboard per annum, being one of Europe's most advanced chipboard production facilities. It also upgrades the raw chipboard to Melamine Faced Chipboard (MFC) products for the furniture market and tongue & groove flooring for the building market. So it has its uses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.