Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Stumpy

Meet Stumpy.  One of about a half dozen chipmunks who joined me on the patio this afternoon for tea peanuts.  This is always a time of frenetic activity as these little rodents compete for food to carry off to their burrows.  Chipmunks will seal themselves in their burrows when it gets cold and go into a state of semi-hibernation, meaning that they wake up periodically to eat, take care of toilet essentials, etc.  In February, they will make a brief foray out to mate; then back into their burrows until spring is here.  

In case you are wondering about the name...this is one of two chipmunks who are missing about 2/3 of their tails.  I suspect that the neighbor's cats are responsible, although it is possible that some other predator came away with just a fuzzy tail.  I call the other one Stumpy Too (intentional spelling).  Stumpy has several little chunks of his right ear missing, as you can see here.  Stumpy Too is in more pristine condition - you can see her in Extra.  

A good day, starting when I woke up with no headache, feeling utterly human again.  After a nice chat with my parents, I met up with two friends for lunch.  On my way home, I popped in to see MIL, who was in good spirits and having lunch.  Then Hubs and I hit the gym.  Back home in time to enjoy chipmunks, titmice and blue jays on the patio.  We are enjoying beautiful weather today and for the next few days.  

Just wired a deposit to secure a spot in a fabulous trip to Columbia next fall to photograph birds.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.