An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Triple trouble...

Betie and Lola in the water (Lola on the right) and Toby watching from the bank.

My back felt a bit better this morning, which was good as we were visiting friends Jennifer and Paul and their two retrievers Bertie and Toby at theirs for lunch.

They live north of Cupar Angus and the journey there was lovely.  So much beautiful autumnal colour.  The entrance to P & J's house is through a beautiful woodland (in extras.)  I could have spent hours there with my camera but had to settle for a snap from the car.

We arrived to the most amazing smells coming from the kitchen, and two little pairs of eyes at the window looking for Lola.  Bertie and Toby were very happy to see her and she them.

We went straight to a beautifully set kitchen table and were served the most amazing lunch.  

Paul and Jennifer are vegetarian and I have to say that what they served us for lunch is the most delicious veggie food I've ever had.  I am noting what we had here as I have ordered the cookery book the recipes came from and will definitely have a go at making them (and others from the book) for us and for my best friend Agnes (who's veggie.)  I always seem to end up making pasta, quiche or pizza for her!  

So the dishes served and scoffed by us were caramelised garlic tart, aubergines with buttermilk sauce and pomegranate, caramelised fennel with goat's cheese, butter beans with feta, sorrel and sumac, stuffed olives and homemade bread.  My mouth is watering again typing that!

My job was to provide dessert and their choice was banoffie pie.  The second one I've made this week!  This time though I used dark brown sugar in the caramel rather than light and it was much better.  I had a tiny slither of it as it's really too sweet for me but it's Paul's favourite dessert so he cut himself a huge piece.  His teeth must have been melting by the end!

After lunch David and Paul took the dogs out for a very long walk (two hours!)  Lola loved every second.  Two doggy pals, new territory, lots of streams and deep puddles and lots of mud!  Perfect.  David was so proud of her though as her recall was excellent.  He was worried that the excitement of it all would take over but nope, she came every time he called and behaved impeccably.  

While they were out Jennifer and I took ourselves off to their very comfortable living room (they live in a very old house and the living room used to be the library when the house was build, so it's full of beautiful wood panelling and the most enormous fire place.)  We cosied in front of the wood burning stove with a cuppa and had a great catch up.  We tried to avoid talking about Brexit and all that's going on but failed.  Like most people, we really can't believe all that is happening and has happened.

The boys and Lola returned, David had a quick cuppa, then we headed home.  

Lola was absolutely exhausted and crashed out for the entire evening!  My back was sore again by the time we got home so I took more painkillers and crashed out like Lola.  Think David may have done the same! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.