Homeward bound...

A globe trotter I am not. But today I feel I've done so on a miniature scale.

Having slept fitfully, dreaming vividly of my journey home, the actual journey was nowhere near as bad as my dreams had predicted. Yet it was still quite daunting, negotiating the city on my own; tubes, escalators, sunday closures etc. Oyster card (I don't have) contactless, hustle and bustle. I would have struggled if I hadn't had the guidance from my friend Glenys, who does it daily, and my phone with internet or relevant apps to consult. How do the many visitor and foreign tourists manage? How many miss 'beeping' in or out of the tubes, when there isn't an obvious gate? Even we did it on one bit of our route yesterday!! I do enjoy seeing my friends, and I do love visiting London, but I don't like travelling on my own.

After the tubes, I caught the train from Liverpool Street to Cambridge. It stopped at all old familiar places i haven't visited for years. Cheshunt, Broxbourne, Harlow Town. Then a quick change to the Norwich bound train which also stopped at every station. Now I'm on my very last train - I've been on 6 in total today - catching the first at 10.27 in Wandsworth and the last from Norwich at 3.36. Is it really so far from Cromer to London? I feel shattered, I'm just developing a cold and I've got work tomorrow. Having fun is exhausting business!! Thanks ladies for a great weekend, but thank goodness I only have to do it once a year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.