New Camera and a few frustrations

I've had a Nikon Z50 on order since it was announced and it arrived this morning. I've been poring over the manual, setting it up how I like things. Seems OK but I can't get the histogram in the viewfinder which is a shame because that's the great thing about mirrorless, seeing all that stuff you need in the viewfinder. Maybe I'll find it tomorrow!

I went out to Hisley Bridge in the afternoon and set myself up with my tripod on the bank. It's an old packhorse bridge over the River Bovey. After taking some shots with the 16-50 lens I decided to use my wideangle. It needs an adapter to fit the lens because the Z series has a different lens mount. That was when I found that the adapter won't fit when the tripod plate is fitted because of its large collar and that's a bummer because there isn't a dedicated wide angle lens in the DX version of Z series. I took the plate off and used it handheld. The light wasn't particularly good because the low sun wasn't reaching into the valley by this time so after using a few different viewpoints I headed back to the van.

Back at home I put the card into the computer and found that Lightroom and Photoshop don't recognise the raw files only the jpegs. After trying various options I downloaded Nikon Capture NX-D and imported the files and converted them to tiffs which I could import to Lightroom. So that's quite a lot of palaver one way or another. I've never bought a camera so soon after release so it's not surprising that there a few things I didn't know. My intention with this camera is as a little camera that's easily carried for light duties but it would have been good to use it with a tripod on occasions. It is a nice neat little camera.

My blip is of the bridge with some gnarly roots in the foreground. I like the way they seem to mirror the shape of the trees by the bridge. It's not quite as sharp as I would have like but that's because of my focus and the small depth of field that I'd used to adjust the shutter speed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.