Milkweed Seed Pod, Early November

“Though I do not believe that a plant will spring up where no seed has been, I have great faith in a seed. Convince me that you have a seed there, and I am prepared to expect wonders.” - Henry David Thoreau.


My husband and I decided to make a quick trip to Bellefonte for a nice lunch at Jim's. We had some errands to run and then I got a few minutes along Spring Creek with my camera before we headed home.

There is a little pond by where we parked the car, and I saw movement on it. Butterflies? Birds? But no - the surface was frozen over, just in some spots, and it was leaves, skittering and dancing along the ice like happy phantoms.

There were a few milkweed pods along that pond, and I stopped for a photo or two. The floss shone like fine silk as it caught the light. (You wouldn't believe how SOFT it is to the touch.)

This pod was open and dispersing its seeds to the four winds. (Go, babies, go!) What are you growing where you live? For here, we have magic seeds for growing butterflies. . . .

My soundtrack song is an 80s hit, Tears for Fears, with Sowing the Seeds of Love. I'm including two versions, a live one, and the original video with all of its special effects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.