Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

City Life

I forgot to mention last week... after her very early start last Tuesday, G decided she didn't need to do these and changed her schedule around so every day began at 8:30, except for today. As a favour to a colleague, she took an early class today, which meant a 5:45 wake up etc. etc.

My picture shows a close up of the skyscrapers as we drove along and says nothing of how the weather changed a few hours later! Thunder and lightning whilst I worked from home. It suddenly occurred to me that rain over here causes a lot of traffic chaos, so I'd better leave early to pick G up. By the time I was walking to the car, the drops were big but I didn't need an umbrella. Then it started to rain. It was torrential. Monsoon-like even.

In less than an hour, parts of the city were flooded with the slow lane on some roads too unsafe for an ordinary car to drive through. It took me nearly forty minutes to get there. Unfortunately, being on my own, I couldn't take any pictures, and by the time G got in the car, the rain had slowed to a drizzle. It stopped just before we got home, so the umbrellas didn't even get wet!

I am told some parts of Dubai Mall looked as if it didn't have a roof! I don't know how it happened, but it was flooded. Our area which is older was wonderfully dry. Glad they sorted out the storm drainage here!

G tried hard to find this year's RAH Festival of Remembrance on YouTube but couldn't. We ended up watching a few episodes of Songs of Praise instead. And earlier in the day, I dropped the new fusebox at Volvo along with a dozen doughnuts! Unfortunately, my mechanic is on holiday, so nothing is going to happen until next week. Oh well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.