Poppydrop Flight

I watched the Festival of Remembrance on TV last night and as I was getting ready to go to North Weald this morning to see the Dakota and Spitfires leave for the White Cliffs of Dover poppydrop the two Spits flew over the house. I got some images of them then headed for the airfield. It was a beautiful morning for flying, taking pics and for the marching veterans. 

I was feeling quite emotional for lots of reasons and when the Dakota and Spitfires fired up their engines the wonderful noise brought a tear to my eye. I've made a montage of the scenes at North Weald and added it to extras. The Dakota dropped 750 thousand biodegradable poppies. It was the brainchild of Aero Legends who own the Dakota. 

As I was leaving I met my gyrocopter pilot friend Arnie. So nice to see him. He was off on a jaunt to Norfolk with his mates in their machines. Lovely day for it.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.