WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

#UglyCars

I could start a series. Here's another horrible 1970s car presenting a parking challenge in the streets of Almuñecar. Apparently, it's the longest 2-door coupé ever produced by Ford, with an engine of a trifling 7.5 litres. I find it hard to believe they were still making such monstrosities at the end of the 1970s. Rear view in extra 1 if you can't get enough of it.

It's not exactly typical of my day, but I thought it was a more unusual photo than the alternative, the solera (extra 2) at the rum distillery in Motril which we toured with a group this morning. It was a much less photogenic trip than I was expecting, since we wrongly assumed it was going to be the actual distillery near Salobreña, full of tall chimneys and industrial tubes and vats. Hence we initially went to the wrong place, realising our mistake when there was no-one else there. The tour was of the site which holds only the offices plus the ageing cellars. It was mildly interesting to hear how the solera system works, but I never drink spirits other than gin, so even the free samples weren't that tempting. However we bumped into some people from our Spanish class and had a chat.

This evening I gave the newest choir in Almuñecar a whirl. It's a pop choir run by a British couple, so not my sort of thing at all. But the grapevine has been buzzing with how much fun it is, so I decided to show willing. It was fun, kind of, basically just a sing-song of middle of the road pop songs (think the Seekers and Abba -- aaargh!) plus a couple of numbers from Jungle Book. It's only two minutes from home and the enjoyment was infectious, but not enough that I'd want to go every week.

There were a few people from the intercambio there, so L gave us a lift to our next rendezvous at the other end of town, another noisy evening with almost as many people as last week. Home at close to midnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.