Throw another log on the fire!

Dear Diary,

Another bitterly cold morning.  Only 5F on my back porch.  It is sure nice to have the old wood stove to keep things nice and toasty warm.  This year I am burning only wood taken from my own property.  Trees that fell during a winter storm two years ago.  Last winter's "falls" are curing in the cellar of the barn for next year.  You have to think ahead with wood.  My stove is also a cook stove and I'm thinking today might be a good day to bake some potatoes.  Nothing like the crunchy skin of a wood stove baked potato!

Louisa May continues to adjust to her new home.  Last night she did a lot of exploring which included jumping into the old soap stone sink for a sniff and making it half way up the stairs to the second floor.  I hope that in no time she will be coming up to bed with me at night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.