Blipmeet

I had decided that today was my day to do what I wanted. No work, no worrying about getting my portfolio together for uni, or marking coursework or anything that would make me stressed.

I went to Manchester and met with Scarlet Haberdashery and had a lovely chilled out afternoon of tea, cake, wandering around and chatting. It was wonderful.

We had tea and cake at this wonderful place called Teacup and Cakes which is in the Northern Quarter. The cakes were epic and the tea was taken very seriously. I had a tea called "Heart of Love Blooming flower tea" which was beautiful. It's brought out with a timer, the brewing pot, a pot to decant into and a lovely little glass tea bowl. Top ups were allowed too. Atmosphere was absolutely lovely - it was lively but with chat and people being social. There was no radio blasting, no television - just a quietly bustling atmosphere that allowed the two of us to chat away merrily and enjoy our refreshments.

We wandered to a craft market and then on to Affleck's Palace, where I have not been for years, but was very much a part of my teenage years - Saturday afternoons frequently involved hopping on a train from Crewe to Manchester and then mooching to Affleck's. It seems that it hasnt changed so much.

Since arriving home, I have managed to do the shopping so the boys can eat this week and tidy up. Tomorrow is work day - lesson prep and portfolio building ready for 4 days of teaching and a day at university.

I find that I have a split attitude at the moment . I am very relieved that i have a degree of certainty about the date of the operation but I am still panicking each time I think about it. Racing heart, feeling nauseous. I try to tell myself it's irrational, but then in some small part, it isn't is it? It's major surgery - if I think it's insignificant then I risk lulling myself into a misguided sense of optimism post op and will end up doing something silly. To that end, I have spoken with my beloved and asked him to ensure that I do not do anything silly. He was not convinced of his ability to make me do as I am told - I get the impression that people think I am stubborn!!!

Anyway, it's sofa time now. Night night.

Thank you Miss Haberdashery - it was lovely to meet you and to feel so comfortable around you. I hope to see you again.

Hebs
xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.