The old and the new

A dreich day so time for some comfort food in the kitchen. Spent afternoon making Welsh cakes, something I used to do years ago on the  Aga in the old farmhouse in Wales.
This followed a techie morning signed on to my first Webinar, which I was assured, would be completely free. My doubts, one and a half hours later, were justified. They were flogging a course. But it was seductive. To start with it was surprisingly easy to access- simply a copy and paste of the URL and I had joined 230 other bloggers worldwide.
 
Only when I checked out their own travel blog did I discover it was riddled with adverts and something called “affiliate marketing”.
 
Finally I binned Chloe, my digital assistant , from Marks and Spencer. She recommends stuff she thinks I should like  based on  my age profile - sensible cardigans and skirts although I have repeatedly emailed her and said I am only interested in their casual , lingerie and sportswear.
 
Yet another example I am afraid of Marks and Spencer trying to catch up with the 21st century.
And failing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.