Piper

I had to get up early today, and then get ready for work.  I didn’t rush though.  I was only there for a meeting, so I didn’t want to get caught up with anything else.  I almost successfully managed to avoid people, but met a colleague on the stairs who reminded me of something that had completely slipped my mind.  I had to tell him that he hadn’t seen me, as I wasn’t really there!

I got a train home at lunchtime.  BB had been home for half an hour, so he didn’t have too long to wait on lunch, and if he had been really hungry he could have rustled something up for himself.  He didn’t of course.

It rained, so I tried to get him to pack his bag for his night hike and overnight camp.  I didn’t have much success, so when the rain went off, I headed to the supermarket for a couple of things.

It was then home to try again, feed him and I continue with my nagging until he was ready.  Meanwhile I got myself changed and waited by the door until he was ready.  I dropped him off in a dark layby on the way to East Linton.

Drop off done, I had to then drop his camping stuff at the Scout hall.  As the forecast wasn’t great, they were sleeping the hall, rather than in tents.  The Hall was in darkness, so we parents had to wait until a Scout leader eventually appeared.  I then headed off to meet TT and a few friends for a  meal in a local hostelry.  It was a lovely evening, even though we had to walk home in the rain.  I was tired when we got in and made the fatal mistake of sitting down on the sofa and wasn’t sure I could be bothered getting myself upstairs.  I did eventually ascend the stairs, and once in bed I was out like a light.

Spotted these two deep in conversation as I headed for my train home today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.