Kipsie

By Kipsie

Lazing on a Sunday afternoon

Had to start the day with a toasted bacon & egg sarnie, then gardening, cut the grass, cassiesmum was just passing in her car so stopped for a quick chat before she headed off to find some sunshine & autumn shades. I planted some dwarf iris, rockery tulips, & a mixed bag of alliums around the plot. I then had a bit of creative moment .... how difficult can Trompe-l'oeil be???!! I need to think about this .... plenty of time to change my mind.
A quick lunch, the prepare the veg for tonight's roast. I need sage, cassiesmum has plenty of purple sage growing in her front border, so I nipped over in the car, grabbed some just as it started raining, then drove along Mount Pleasant on the way back, pheasants running across the lane, up into the hedge. If they had any sense they would be long gone as there are bound to be more shoots at Ugbrooke this week. I passed the above gateway, parked up, walked back and snapped, good job I did as the rusty old hay rack I planned to snap has been given a makeover with a lick of paint, moved from the overgrown corner of the paddock and positioned outside the entrance to the property.
Mum came up for dinner, it's her 87th birthday today, fortunately fit as a flea. The roast pork crackled perfectly, the sage & onion stuffing tasty, the Magners a perfect accompaniment.  We watched the Strictly results .... goodbye Michelle. Had our pud with a coffee, then I dropped Mum home.
I finished reading The Russian Concubine last night. Loved it! Off to bed to start the sequel - The Concubine's Secret.

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.