The best laid plans........

I bought tickets for artist friend Andrea and me to go to the talk at the Laing on ‘Hidden Interiors’ exhibition.

I was getting the hourly bus from home and she’s join me on it in Morpeth. But the 10 am bus didn’t turn up and getting the next on an hour later would mean we’d be late. Luckily Mr C was still in the house as I’d not got house or car keys with me. He drove me to her house which is a 2 minute walk from buses coming every 15 mins so we got to the lecture in time. After learning a bit we toured the exhibition which was so interesting. We learned about the hidden meanings in paintings in particular the Burne Jones already in the gallery in the “women in gilded cages” themes. The blip, “Hussein Pasha” is by an Iraqi artist Hayv Kahraman who was a child refugee from the Iran/Iraq war. It’s based on an aerial view of a home with courtyards which have screens whereby women can see the outer world without being seen.

We were so engrossed it was 2.20 before we thought of lunch. My bus was 3.20 so we decided on a quick bite in the Tyneside. At 2.50 the food hadn’t arrived. The chap said he’d thought we only wanted a glass of water. Consequently I had a sandwich on the bus which was freezing. (The bus not the sandwich).

Now #2 daughter has phoned to say James has a bug so can we look after him tomorrow. That means leaving home at 6.45 am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.