An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Autumn twilight...

Backblipped

Ele and I had a leisurely start to the day then after lunch Ele helped me clear all the items off my kitchen work tops and re arrange them.  A simple task but it's taken three years to get done.

When our new kitchen was fitted (three years ago just now) as part of our building work, Alan was really ill in hospital and Ele, Kenny and Agnes and Adrian were wonderful whilst D and I were at the hospital with him, they took over making sure things were going smoothly with the kitchen fitting and the last of the building work.  This included unpacking boxes and putting stuff away in the kitchen where they thought we might like it to go.  

To be fair, they did a brilliant job and from memory we only swapped the contents of two cupboards.  I was also happy to have my major gadgets (food mixer, processor and liquidiser) on the counter top as it meant they were to hand whenever I wanted to use them and I didn't have to ask David to get them out of a cupboard for me.

Through time though the placement of these and other items proved not to be as practical as I first thought, and not particularly aesthetically pleasing, but changing them around is one of those silly, low priority jobs, that never seem to get done.

Well today it got done!

I removed the food processor as it's temperamental so rarely gets used and re-jigged the rest (toaster moved nearer the bread bin and tea and coffee making area thereby creating new food prep area :-) and a couple of other, rarely used items removed and voila!  What a difference! We both agreed it was a job well done!  Amazing how much joy can be found in the simple things!  :-))

Ele headed off just after 4pm.  She delayed her departure as long as possible as Kenny is decorating their hall, stairs and landing and she knew his mood would not be good!  :-))

David arrived home just after 5pm, having enjoyed a round of golf with Keith at Lanark enroute.  He smelled of autumn and the great outdoors.  It made me realise I hadn't been over the door all weekend so I went out for a wander in the side garden and caught the last of the winter sun's colour in the sky.  Chilly out but so lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.