Plus ça change...

By SooB

Woolly

The colours have not come out at all like real life.  First time I've bought wool by the skein (is that the right word) and it took me right back to being little, holding the wool for my Mam to wind into balls for easier knitting.  And woe betide me if my exhausted arms dropped!  Having no such slaves willing assistants (my kids sensibly just saying no to such requests) it fell to my knees to play the role.  Which they did shockingly badly, resulting in much dropping of wool.

This 'green' wool is waiting for a new needle to replace the circular one that Joey ate.  My current (brown) jumper project is waiting for more wool (I forgot that I was supposed to add in a stripe of the yellow wool as I knew I didn't have enough brown - but I've pulled it out so many times that I can't face doing that again).  And there's a hat pattern that is waiting for appropriately eco wool to arrive, as it is for my sister who (rightly) sets great store by such things.

Last night there was a brief Piper scare when I thought a particularly boisterous dash across the slippy living room floor and a resulting ungainly crash into a cupboard door had hurt her foot, but it turns out rabbits are just 'footed' and her holding her foot up is normal.  I clearly still have so much to learn about them before the kids skip off to uni and leave me with two creatures I didn't even want in the first place (and the fish I specifically banned, and the ants).

CarbBoy is grumpy about being evaluated in sport on a group activity when his group was missing a person and couldn't do their acrosport (making towers of people) routine properly.  As all the marks count for their final exam this year, it does seem a little harsh.  And I need to have a word with the biology teacher about document-based tests on subjects they haven't studied yet and with no extra time given for the kids who struggle with such tasks.  

Bonny bright day today, but icy cold.  An enormous order of pellets for the fires is arriving tomorrow, I don't know where I'm going to put them.  And the house is nearly fully stocked to keep the kids alive for the 30 odd hours when I'm abandoning them this weekend.  They will live on Netflix and crisps, so I'm not sure why I bothered with the clementines.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.