I have seen the future...

... and it doesn't look all that comfortable. But as you can see it is a plug-in.

I went to the Bike Show at the NEC with some friends, and sat on a lot of bikes and ate the now traditional full English breakfast. I played with the new Triumph Rocket 3 2500cc monster (which doesn't feel all that big now), and managed not to overspend in the accessories stands.

What I was interested in was the evolving technology of electric bikes. I know one day Morrigan will be too big a girl for me to manage - although for certain that's not yet awhile - and I'll need to move to a lighter machine. I'm as certain that when that time comes I will be looking at an electric motorcycle.

I sat on the big Harley Davison LiveWire and on a lot of lesser known names. The Zero machine looked almost decent but with only 200 miles even with the add-on spare battery there is more to be done yet. Also... charging stations.

This uncomfortable looking prototype from BMW wasn't available to sit on. I had memories of the old movie Tron, and I suspect that's where it harkens from. What i really want is a decent armchair cruiser with a three hundred mile range at motorway speeds, and a ten minute recharge.

By the time I can afford a new bike again that may be possible...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.