An Unveiling

I have been trying to pace things today. Yesterday’s remedies (and a good sleep) have improved things a lot but my back feels delicate still,

Walking does me good. So a walk over from the Salford bank into the Manchester side of the city centre to my usual Monday meeting.

But things were not usual on the other side of the Irwell, A big crowd, amplified music and speeches, and TV cameras and reporters. Clerics and civic worthies, and lots of people of Indian heritage. And a big build up to an unveiling, which I watched, Under that red cover a striking statue of Mahatma Gandhi.

The story seems to be that it is 150 years since Gandhi was born. An Indian spiritual organisation has gifted the statue to Manchester. All paid for by the Kamani family, founders of the online fashion brand BooHoo.

I am not sure what Gandhi would have made of it. I know he visited the Lancashire cotton mills, I don’t know that he ever visited Manchester. And there was a bit of Bollywood glitz about today’s event. But he was one of the greats of the last century, I can understand people being proud of his achievements and legacy. And his message of non violent disobedience still resonates today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.