The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Beech sunrise

There was a fiery furnace sunrise this morning, my first this year. The forecast was for a front to move in bringing snow, and that duly arrived towards the end of the morning. So Gus and I made sure we were up early to catch the sun before it disappeared for the day. As usual I failed to get a landscape shot with him in it, my accomplice and blip consultant being unavailable to distract him.

We had a second and longer walk in the quiet of the soft falling snow, past Middlebarrow, through Eaves Wood, up to the Pepper Pot, down past Arnside Tower, running the gauntlet of the farm collies (safely tethered) and finally back home.

I was exhausted when we got back. Before the snowcast I had been thinking we might start the campaign of doing the Wainwrights with Gus. But maybe it was wise not to start yet: he's fit enough, I'm not sure I am.

ps This day last year was the first sunset blip of the year

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.