Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Another wet day

It has not stopped raining for 2 days now and I am getting fed up with the weather. I cannot remember such a wet November! A constant soft drizzle that is hardly noticeable except my hair goes all stringy when I am out walking.

So another damp walk in the woods this morning, trying to avoid the puddles and muddy areas. After the walk I left Xena to sleep at home and met a friend in the village for coffee (and a slice of delicious gluten free lemon drizzle cake) It was very cosy inside the cafe and a good place to be on such a damp day.

My brother and his partner are coming from SA and joining us for Christmas at home this year, and then also coming to Switzerland for New Year. In order for them to visit both countries they need visas and I have to do 'invitation' letters stating we will support them whilst visiting us. They need copies of my passport, a utility bill and the invitation letter in order to apply for the visa which is a bit of a faff for them and me. And the visas are not cheap!

One of the reasons I enjoy watching The Crown so much is it provides a very good history of the times - last night I watched the episode that covered the Aberfan disaster - what a dreadful tragedy that was, it must have been absolutely horrific for those families who lost loved ones. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.