NOT DOWNTON

But it is an Abbey - albeit in ruins!!!!

A lovely day to day.  Met up with fellow Blipper (and AYWMCer etc) Kath and her dog Fletch.  

I arrived at They Abbey House Hotel in Barrow 45 minutes too early as I thought it would take me a lot longer to get their, but traffic was good and it only took me 40 minutes!!!!  It was tipping t down with rain but looked brighter in the distance so I went into the hotel for a coffee.  

Kath and Fletch arrived, Fletch very excited as this is on of his favourite walks.  Rain had stopped and after Fletch barking at us to stop nattering so he could get on with his walk we set off.  It's a lovely walk, through grounds, woods, down past the Abbey and then up some steep steps around the grounds.  I will take hubby there is it is a lovely walk.  We then eventually ended up at the Abbey Mill Cafe.  Which is lovely.  I had some some soup (sweet potato, chilli and something that I've forgotten) - delicious and bought hubby home a couple of their home-made mince pies as I am assured they are excellent.  As hubby had a toasted tea cake this morning, followed by a meat and potato pie from a bakery in Barrow at lunch time he is going to keep the mince pies (just two of them) to share with G tomorrow.

The Abbey Mill cafe is in a fabulous location and in the summer you can sit outside and overlook Furness Abbey ruins.

A photo of Fletch in the extras.  Alongside a shot of the wooden hut (that used to be the entrance gate) framed through the abbey ruins.  Not the best shot because I had my wide angle lens with me and not the zoom.  Will have to go back and take a better shot another time.

A GRAND DAY OUT.

This is my entry for Derelict Sunday as it I've just found out it lasts all week - yeahhhh!!!!!!  Thanks for Marliske for hosting.
Abbey Mill Cafe
Furness Abbey
Abbey House Hotel

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.