Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Advent

I haven't got an Advent related picture to post for today. It is the 1st of December and on a Sunday too, so extra special. A number of people in the country have the next few days off, so the mood is very good here!

Our cleaner came for his normal Sunday time. I would have let him have the day off, but he is going away for a month and we're not sure if he's got anyone lined up to cover for him. He likes to have the place to himself, so G & I went for a drive to do a few errands as well as check out this new development near the Dubai Drydocks.

It's called Pearl Jumeirah and is (yet another) manmade island. It has a resort called Nikki Beach. We parked up and could see it was exclusive. Then I read their charter - placed outside for everyone to read. There was a (poor) hostess standing in the sun checking people in. (Her umbrella wasn't big enough). G talked her way into the place and I tagged along.

Well, I have never seen such decadence. All done very nice and stylish, but one can't help think about all the pressing needs in the world whilst walking around. Pictures aren't allowed (for the privacy of the patrons), so G's camera got taken off her. I took some pictures on my phone making sure I didn't accidentally have a person in them.

I was glad to get out and back to normal life. We drove around the island a bit and found this "Beach". There was a Rolls Royce parked up amongst other luxury cars. This view of the skyline will be great to photograph on a clear day. Today, this is what we had - haze and humidity. It was actually very warm. Close to the 30's.

We got back for lunch and then went out again to watch the movie The Good Liar with the friends we had lunch with yesterday. A lot of people have commented on this movie. Definitely worth watching for the plot.

I hope to be more productive over the next few days.

PS. Does anyone remember The Bongo Punch? A real blast from the past... a memory popped into my head whilst I was talking about growing up in Dubai at lunch yesterday. So pleased to find it on YouTube! Some things you never forget!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.