Famous but unknown

Another dullish kind of a day, but at least it's not windy or wet! Did a bit out in the 'garden' - still trying to get organised so that I can really do some gardening!

I'm not sure if I've mentioned author Cecil Roberts before - it's almost certain that I have! He's a favourite author of mine, tho' few people have heard of him today. Born in 1892, he wrote some 60+ books between 1912 and 1974 - novels, travel, poems, biographies of which I still have a dozen or so to find, mostly pre-First World War, or booklets and poetry published during the war. He published a five-volume autobiography towards the end of his life, which is the subject of my Blip today. 

It became fashionable in his later life - he died in 1976 - to deride him, to criticise his novels and poetry, but in his day he was well-known and knew many famous personalities - authors, playwrights, 'celebrities' of all sorts. A review of his autobiography called him a 'name-dropper', but why record your visit to London without mentioning that you had an audience with the Queen?

I'm 90% through reading all of his books probably for the third time at least! I think it's time for a republishing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.