Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A busy day in the capital

Today was so busy that this is a back blip.

It’s been a lovely sunny day. Cold, but not as cold as at home.

On my first tube ride I met two exhuberant women. They did not know each other but we were soon into conversation. I commented that everyone else in the compartment was dressed in black or grey.  They have both lived in London and left.


I started my cultural day at the V&A.   Popped into Cars which was quite a small exhibition, but interesting. En route to the RPS collection of photos, I saw Tim Walker’s Wonderful Things. He writes things that resonate with me, but I don’t like his work!  I can’t imagine how much the sets cost.

The permanent photo collection at the museum is well worth time and contemplation.

I walked in Kensington and Hyde Park this afternoon. My image is of the Albert Memorial. I was taken with the long shadows and waited until two shadows were in line for my shot.

In the park, a woman insisted that I took peanuts to feed the noisy parakeets. They are very tame as are the pigeons and squirrels. The birds landed all over me until the nuts were gone. Soon afterwards another photographer approached her and soon ended up covered birds!

A dog owner told me that the police can fine you if your dog chases squirrels......

I returned to The Hub during the afternoon for a brief rest and feasted on a salad from Waitrose.

Then to the National Theatre for Brian Friel’s Translations. There was an exhibition of theatre costumes to absorb me before the play.  If you have not been, do go. This is a powerful play that leaves you with many questions. It’s one I’ll be talking about for ages.

It was late when I made my way back to the hotel and I fell into bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.