Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The germ of an idea

I'm thinking a lot about how I want to present the pandemic for the photo project I'm contributing to. The working title is "Seeing through Covid Eyes". Keen followers (!) will know that I have made some images with the theme of Isolation. You will also know that I like to photograph people.

Today I asked for help from Margaret (across the road) and Margret (next door). I photographed them wearing masks and making different facial expressions. They were such good sports.

I might try some where all I show are the eyes and the top of a mask.

I went to Newcastle for an ultrasound scan for Arth. When I arrived my name was not on the list. The letter they had given me had the correct appointment on it but the wrong name. Clearly a slight slip up somewhere along the line.

The receptionist was all for sending me home. As far as she was concerned, the consultant had not requested the scan for me, but for the other patient. That patient was not in the department - surprise, surprise.

I heard myself getting stroppy. I offered to explain what needed scanning to the radiologist, but they said it would be illegal to scan my knee. 

After a long 15 minutes of waiting, they tracked down the consultant. He had to access the computer system at this hospital to make the request.

The radiologist was a delight and we had a good chat. He has found inflammation in the patella and quadriceps tendons. Quite a lot! He thinks I am a typical doctor-patient who has been doing too much, but it's 4 months since the op now.

I will hear from the surgeon by phone and hope he will offer me a steroid injection. I know he won't be keen.

Arth is pretty upset. The worst bit was when the radiologist scanned Aggie to show the comparison with a normal knee!

I may have to rest for a few days.

Life in the Time of Covid-19
So Mum is likely to be one of the first to be vaccinated I guess. I wonder if they will do me too since I'm her only carer and have asthma?! Doubt it, but one can only hope.

I made my first visit to a supermarket since March today. I was on my way home from the hospital and called at Morrisons at Cowgate. It was very quiet. I didn't want many things. I remembered the cat treats but forgot the beetroot.  (At least I have some priorities right.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.