Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Chance meeting

I had booked a slot at  Gibside (NT) this morning. The weather was nice and I enjoyed the drive to Rowlands Gill.

I was amazed to see all the cars in the main car park. It was nearly full and there were quite a number of cars in the overflow too. The estate is so large that it is easy for a couple of hundred people to be well socially distanced as they walk around.

There were a lot of Mums and/or grandparents with toddlers in pushchairs. There were a lot of older couples enjoying a stroll. There were a few people like me, who were walking alone.

It's hillier than you expect - I'd forgotten that. Arth was quite sore after yesterday's walk. I was toiling up the hill when I saw a man ahead of me who stopped to sit on a bench at the top. Then I realised I knew him. It was Chris Griffiths, professional French horn player, formerly with the Royal Northern Sinfonia. I used to see him on woodwind courses back in the day and he used to come and work with the Cobweb Orchestra too.

Chris has retired from the orchestra but has plenty of opportunities to play so he is very happy.

Mum and I were going to watch last night's quizzes, when I remembered that I had booked to hear Martin Middlebrook on a Zoom meeting  organised by the Yorkshire branch of the RPS. It was fascinating to hear him talk about the year he lived in Afghanistan and photographed ordinary people there.

He also told us about a two week shoot in Ethiopia and was quite frank about the need then to shoot images that will make him a living. Lots to think about. I would have loved to be part of a longer discussion about the ethics.

My extra today is of the main drag at Gibside. Most people walk along here but then hive off to different areas of the woods, riverside or farming land.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.