Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A quick trip to London

My journey to London was trouble free.

It was -8 degrees overnight and the world was a sparkling wonderland as Brian (over the road) drove me to the station. I was in Newcastle almost in time to catch an earlier train, but didn’t rush because I had a seat booked on the next. Except I didn’t! The train was busy and the online booking service was down so I had to guess where to sit.

It was all OK to York where a couple got on and I was in one of their seats. I tried to explain and moved....

I heard them complain that someone had put luggage on the rack above them which should have been theirs. (I thought they might have been better off in first class!)

By the way, it wasn’t mine.

The guard was magnificent. People were standing and she said she was coming through the train to see if anyone had luggage on a seat. If they did, she would charge them a second fare. She also told the large party of schoolgirls that they must sit down or she would give away their seats. Awesome!

I’m at The Hub near Kings Cross. I walked to Coal Pits Yard to the Everyman Cinema to see Daniel Craig in Knives Out. I have become tired in recent years of Agatha Christie on screen and TV. This is not Christie but is of the genre and was well done and hilarious.

The cinema has deep soft seats and your drinks and snacks can be brought to you once you are seated.

My extra could be called “The dog’s bollocks”. This little dog insists on walking along every stone seat in Granary Square. I guess it’s easier to greet his public this way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.