Dowley Gap

Tony and I walked down in to Bingley this morning, Tony to head to Leeds to do some jobs and pick up a Christmas present for Mary, and me to Saltaire for my recorder lesson.  When I arrived at my young Music Teacher's house it was to discover that she had tried to text me to cancel the lesson as she had been hit on the head by a new, and very heavy, window blind which had fallen down when she had gone to open it.  She had a doctor's appointment booked in so I went with her.  Thankfully, after checking her out, the doc gave her the okay.  Her Mum is arriving this evening so she has spent the afternoon with neighbours, staying awake.  Apparently the neighbours tried putting the blind back up and it immediately fell down again.

Once F was back home I walked down in to Saltaire Village and bought myself a cappucino and a cornflake crunchy and headed off home along the canal.  The sunny day had brought out lots of folks walking the towpath.  My blip is taken from the locks looking back to the bridge over the canal.

We are relaxing in front of the tv which seems to consist of afternoon Christmas movies which all have exactly the same storyline:  Gorgeous city workaholic successful young woman comes home temporarily to cutesy small town (beautifully dressed with Christmas decorations) for Christmas and full of heartwarming characters, meets hunky local builder/joiner/lumberjack/store owner/fireman with whom she has an instant misunderstanding and to whom she takes an instant dislike, buys the local bookstore/saves the family home/adopts an orphan child/coaches the children's baseball team/takes part in the snowman building competition (when she is annoyingly partnered with hunky guy),  rediscovers herself, decides she will throw over the city job, is rescued from a snowstorm/a burning house/being crushed by a giant snowman by misunderstood hunky guy and they join the carollers around the tree in cutesy home town and live happily ever after in the family home saved by a mysterious benefactor.....Am I sounding a wee bit cynical?

Oops, I forgot the egg nog muffins!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.