Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Luminarias

EDIT:I switched blips. The original is an extra.

I made another trip to Tubac this evening on a night even better than yesterday. There seem to be more children and more music playing around town, too.

I had a really hard time picking my Blip. I always love children but this one I really liked because Venus is in view (now in extras). It was much brighter to the naked eye than it is in the photograph. But I definitely could not leave out a couple of shots with kids. In the blip a little girl was toasting marshmallows over the fire pit. She kept trying over and over again but but her marshmallows were burnt to a crisp. Finally, she decided to light a second bamboo stick  and use it to gently toast her marshmallow. In another extra, there is one tiny child looking up in amazement as the snow provided by the deli comes off the roof. I think I might add more shots, too.

I had a bite to eat at the deli for the second night in a row. As I was sitting outside, I noticed a guy leaning against the wall who was wearing a really funny sports jacket. I walked over to pay him a compliment on it and we got to talking a bit. Much to my amazement, he is the husband of the owner of the Karen Newbie Gallery, which includes large pieces of kinetic art and bronze statues spread over an acre of land. She also has an indoor gallery on the property. They put out 500 luminaries. I tried to take a picture of that but it was so immense that I couldn’t fit it into a frame. It was they who had the fire pit for the kids.

I got there around 4:30 PM and didn’t leave until four hours later. The only time I sat down was to eat and listen to some music for a few minutes. I walked over 5 miles during that time which I don’t think I have ever done. I loved every second of what I saw, heard and smelled. These are the kind of peaceful nights around the holidays that I really enjoy. Two things coming up which are more obligatory. They won’t be as calming and enjoyable but I’ll keep this night in my head while I am there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.