SECOND SUNDAY IN ADVENT

Today in Church we celebrated the Second Sunday in Advent, when the candle representing Peace was lit - mind you, it took a little while because first of all the matches wouldn’t light and then someone came to the rescue and found a box of matches in the kitchen, but there was only one in the box!  Every year, as Advent begins, I think we should have one of those little gas candle lighters that you just click so I will be going out to buy one for our Church this week!

It was a great service and we were thinking particularly about “making way” so of course, sang the song written by Graham Kendrick, Make Way, which many of you may know - but if not, why not listen and enjoy it.

After the service there was coffee, sausage rolls and mince pies, left over from the refreshments provided at the Concert last night, and these were enjoyed by all, as well as lots of chat.  I have to say that I didn’t get a cup of coffee though, because I was too busy chatting to different friends, and when I popped into the kitchen about fifteen minutes later, it was to be told that the remaining coffee had just been poured away - that’ll teach me!  

I couldn’t resist taking more photographs of Ngozi and Kosi - and I particularly liked the shot of one of our dear friends, Keith, with Ngozi, they were sorting through the box of instruments together and making some wonderful sounds.  I’ve put a shot of Kosi and Chi, his Mum, in as an extra and also one of him - we think he probably had tummy ache because as he rarely cries, his little face said it all this  morning.

Behind Door 8 on our Advent of Change Calendar, the Farm Africa charity told us, “Today you have helped a Ugandan chilli farmer escape poverty, by providing them with training on how to boost their harvest and increase the price of their crops.”  I’m not a lover of chilli myself, but I’m sure many will be pleased to be able to help these chilli farmers.

“Peace cannot be kept by force.
     It can only be achieved by understanding.” 
Albert Einstein

P.S.  JH Ted thanks you for your kind comments yesterday - he said he hopes to be able to go out with me again soon - I will have to watch him carefully, I can see.  Once again, I apologise for lack of commenting on your Blips - my hand is sore this evening - I think chopping vegetables for our meal didn’t help!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.