THIS MAN HAS A CERTAIN SOMETHING!

When I looked out of the window this morning and saw the sun shining, I knew it was going to be a good day - thank you all for your kind and encouraging comments yesterday - it was just a small “blip” but I am fine today.

We had several things to do today, so went to the library to collect a couple of books that I had reserved after which we went into Old Town because I needed to send off several things and had to take them into the Post Office.  As we passed Jack’s, we realised it was open, so how could we not go in?  It has been about two months since we were last there, so it was good to see all the staff again, although it was quite quiet - perhaps people were out doing their Christmas shopping.  

When Kieron brought our coffee, we were talking about the vaccine and said we would probably get it quite soon because of our age, so he asked how old we were - when we told him, his comment was “Well, if I look as good as you two when I get to your age and still have all my hair, I will be happy!”  I think it was a compliment! :-) 

We chatted to Flo, the supervisor, for a while and then Pascal, the Manager, came in from his office next door, so he came over to have a chat with us.  Thinking he would be a good subject for a Blip today, I got out my phone when he told me that he still has the photograph I took of him a couple of years ago, and I think he said it was on his fridge - because his wife liked it!  

He remembered that I had been in having coffee with a friend - those were the days!  It turns out that it was my friend, Rachel - and if you look at the Blip for that day - 7th February 2018, you will see her as an extra and Pascal as my main Blip.  He certainly has a good memory!

I took a few shots, but the light was shining on his face covering, which he didn't like, so he took it off and stood a good way away from me.  I then took several more using the Portrait mode on my iPhone and you need to be at least 8 feet away for that, so all was good.  The main difference between the shot taken two years ago is that Pascal’s beard appears to be longer today.

I rather like this shot of him - and will make sure that I make a copy of this Blip and take it in for him when we are next there - he is such a lovely man and we have often had some quite interesting chats, because he, too, does calligraphy.  Pascal is French and as he shrugged his shoulders, I said he had a certain “Je ne sais quoi” which means “an appealing quality that cannot be adequately described” - and I think he was happy with that!  What a lovely morning - we chatted with several other people in the café, including a lady who was a care worker and we all agreed we need to stay positive and keep smiling, no matter what is happening all around us.

Things that brought me joy today:

Being able to have a great cup of coffee in Jack’s
Meeting Pascal and the other staff after a couple of months
Being able to do a RACK - Random Act of Christmas Kindness - for someone in the café 

“Smile at strangers…
     and you might just change a life.”
Steve Maraboli

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.