Memories

This beautiful white lily is a heirloom and has many memories attached to it. 

A cousin I didn't know about made contact with me when I did my Ancestry DNA test. And she lives just around the corner. We meet up along with some another cousins and got talking about the family history and the subject of this lily came up.

From as far back as I can remember visiting the Pigeon Bay cemetery with my father to tend to his parents grave. On my mothers side she had her grandparents buried there to.. plus may more relations. Her grandparents had yews trees and these lovely lilies in their fenced off plot. I always loved seeing them in flower. When I returned to New Zealand after being away for many years I found the lilies had gone as the graves were so over grown.

When I meet my new cousins I was told that they had managed to to save a few lily bulbs and had them gowning in their gardens. And they gave me some. I took a couple to Akaroa and one was flowering there and this one was in a pot here in Christchurch. I am so pleased to have them... lots of history and memories attached to them.

I think it may be a Madonna lily



Apart from lots of flooding cutting off part of the South Island in the last few days .. now we have had a volcano eruption on White Island. They are saying up to 50 people could have been on the island when it erupted. There are reports of people having serious injuries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.