Quite possibly lunacy

Our final day out west was accompanied by truly awful weather. It wasn't quite wall to wall rain, but whenever we got out of the car to have a little look-see somewhere, it came on heavily and we had to retreat rather rapidly. But it didn't stop us having some fun, although I did do rather a lot of driving.

We managed lunch at the Clachaig Inn and tea at Brambles in Inveraray. Which is, of course, a rather eccentric way to get from Lochaline to Stirling, where we were dropping L and G for their dreaded rail replacement bus to Perth and train onwards to Aberdeen. But it was quite fun, and the highlight was driving down Glen Orchy as the river threatened to spill over onto the road. It was possibly a stupid thing to do - I'm sure it would have been stupid if my car had been drowned. But it was quite exhilarating to see the river in spate. The madness of some, however.... These five canoists were just setting off as we arrived, so I quickly snapped them from the bridge. I hope they made it to where they were going unscathed.

A lovely weekend, despite the rain. But, oh boy, I was quite weary when we got home and I went to bed early before doing my blip....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.