Mantelpiece

It seems terribly early to me I must say but as today is the four year old's last Tuesday sleepover of the year I thought she might like to help decorate the tree when she is here later on. And once those decorations were out the others which adorn the mantelpiece were dusted off too. These include handmade efforts from the 1980s when my children were at playgroup, nursery and primary school, some baubles which mum gave me over the years (a tradition I've continued with my children and now grandchildren) and some other Christmassy ornaments I've been given or collected. I've lit some candles in the hearth and generally tried to give the room a jolly, hygge feeling. An antidote to the election campaign maybe.

In addition the weather is awful. Heavy rain and a nasty wind. I can see my step count being poor today and the jury is out on whether I'll go to yoga later. It's a day for the house. I'm off to make mince pies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.