The second half of life..

By twigs

Tauranga Bay

An early start, not because I was heading away but because I had to change a coffee date in town from midday to 'earlier' because I was heading away. 'Earlier' became 7.30 . . . . which then turned into 7.45 . . . . much more decent!

After heading home well over an hour later it was then into a few jobs that needed doing before packing the van up - buy food for cats, buy chemical loo fluids, fill gas bottle (which, it turns out, I can't do because its date is expired :( I hope there's enough gas to get me through 10 days!), check tyre pressures etc. For some reason these jobs then the van packing took me to well past midday. Where the time went I have no idea!

Cruisey trip down to Murchison where I met up with teejay, kiwilizzie, dumbledorian and teacherlady for coffee and a chat. It was lovley to meet dumbledorian and teacherlady in 'real' life - sound slike they're each having a good time zipping round the countryside :)

The cafe also runs an animal park with all sorts of semi-tame wildlife - peacocks, a peahen and chicks (cute!), cockerels, deer, llama, alpaca, sheep (including a very friendly 'pet' black lamb) rabbits, goats and, no doubt, others I've missed too. Oh - and sandflies!!! Masses of the wee nasties - probably because of the cooler but more humid conditions. I think they were just the warm-up for Milford!

On then over to the Coast where I am tonight. Tauranga Bay to be precise. I could have stayed at Carter's Beach motor park but my preference is to stay away from organised camp grounds as much as possible, only using them when I need facilities. I drove out this way thinking I might be a lone sole only to find 3 other campervans parked here! Safety in numbers I guess.

Heading south tomorrow - no idea where I'll end up which doesn't worry me at all. The only thing that does worry me is that I've left my raincoat at home and the forecast isn't looking too good :( That'll be a test.

So, with the wild Tasman Ocean pounding in my ears I'll say goodnight :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.