The contoeuing saga

You may think I am making a fuss about the busted toe story but:

a) I am milking it for all it's worth
b) I can't imagine that child birth is anything like as painful (are you sure?-Ed)
c) it's a good news story about the NHS

So here goes. I went back to A&E this morning (see yesterday for the full story). Got there at just before 10 and was seen at 11. So that is just over an hour. How about that for a short waiting time? 

While waiting I spent a happy hour watching punters trying to get a coffee out of the machine, except you had to provide your own cup. Who knew? It fooled several people, including me. Memo to self: next time I have to go to A&E remember to take a mug with me. 

The nurse was very vigilante and careful. I thought he would tell me to brace up and get on with it but No. He dressed it, got me a special shoe which looks like a Chinese wooden sandal from the Chairman Mao era and makes me shuffle along, prescribed some antibiotics and sent me on my way with a handshake and a Christmas wish.

But here's the remarkable part: He forgot to give me the prescription and I forgot to ask for it. So while I was on the bus home he phoned me to tell me to come back for them. How about that for service? So back I went and picked up the prescription.

The next stage was going to the hospital pharmacy and queuing  for the gear to be assembled. While waiting I was able to enjoy people watching in the outpatients' waiting lounge. A Macmillan fund raiser was playing Christmas songs at full blast and announcing them for our enlightenment e.g. 
"That was Here it is Merry Christmas by Slade", whilst nearby a patient on a mobility scooter was playing different songs on his phone. I was located somewhere between the two. Clothes were being sold from a rail and a box of Roses chocs was being passed around amongst us. As a token gesture against obesity I declined an orange cream.

Then I was on my way home with all necessary kit. I have to congratulate Whipps Cross hospital for their diligence and care. I have been booked in for a follow up check and the doc's surgery is going to monitor the dressing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.