Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Fat Snowmen

We had a monsoon here today so I decided to get off my behind and make something instead of sitting around all day.

  I have been wanting some crispy gingersnap cookies so I googled and found a recipe that said just that.  Luckily I had all the ingredients   The recipe called for making the dough in one inch balls and pressing down with a fork but I decided to pull out the cookie cutters that have been gathering dust for over ten years.   I found a snowman..so a gingerbread snowman.   I cleaned off my rolling pin...another thing collecting dust ..and rolled out the dough and made snowman cookies.   

When they baked the snowman got fat and lost his curves. They are  not snow ladies...just saying.    The cookies taste nothing   like the recipe says they would be.     They barely taste of ginger at all...more like a sugar cookie.  Maybe my ginger had lost its strength..I did taste in on my finger and it tasted strong.   Anyway,   I threw the recipe I printed in the garbage.  I packed the cookies in a box for Christmas.  My kids will eat them!  

I also made a batch of pecan tarts.   I added some apple pie moonshine to the egg batter ( and a few sips for me!) to see if it showed up in the baked product.   No, it did not ...but I really didn't care.  That moonshine works good in warm apple cider too.   
 
So I am done with Christmas baking probably for the next ten years.  

I really wanted some gingersnaps but I guess I will buy a box at the store. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.