DESICCATED COCONUT

A day of domestic chores today.  Lots of ironing, baking and washing up ( far too much washing up )

Its Taster Night/Christmas Party at Slimming Club tomorrow so I set out to make what I usually make - coconut meringues.  My blip shot shows the pack of desiccated coconut I used.  The recipe is tried and tested - I have used it many times before. However today the meringues were a disaster.  The mixture just wouldn't thicken.  I didn't even bother using  as it was just like liquid. I would have had to pour it in to the baking tray. No idea why - although there are quite a few things which could have gone wrong.  Couldn't make another batch as I had no eggs left.  I might have another go tomorrow afternoon - but time will be tight.  So I made something else this evening - spicy vegetable and bacon pakoras.  Thank goodness they seem OK.

Musical link - I've got a Lovely Bunch Of COCONUTS - Billy Cotton Bandshow

The  Billy Cotton Bandshow was a radio programme from 1949 until 1968 and it was also on TV  between 1956 and 1968. It used to be shown on a Saturday evening and when I was a child it was regular viewing.

Internet has been " playing up " all day.  I kept losing connection.  Another thing to annoy me today. 

Steps today - 5,703

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.