NOT A Pretty Blip!

I stayed home from church today as I still wasn’t feeling too well - my throat wouldn’t have coped with the singing during the service and the talking afterwards. But - am very thankful my church does a webcast so I didn’t have to miss out entirely!

Later on this afternoon a guy from the fireplace company came to do the final job - install the shelf/mantle. After having it painted 3x and finally replastered a few weeks ago I was READY for this project to be DONE and thankful they made so much effort to have this last job done before Christmas. Unfortunately the guy made a mistake in his measuring and positioned it 5cm above where we’d discussed - and NOT in line with the bookcase shelf which is where I wanted it. Needless to say I wasn’t happy but I’ll live with it awhile and see if I want it changed eventually.

BUT - that wasn’t the biggest drama of the day! While he was here I went into the utility room to put something away and soon discovered a pool of water. I started moving everything around including the VERY heavy washing machine (all while I’m not feeling well!) and finally discovered that I had TWO leaks in one of the inlet pipes. I got a bucket underneath it, but, while mopping up all the water I realised I’d never be able to leave it overnight as it was filling up way too quickly. So I finally shut off all incoming water (not before filling up several large water containers) and emptied out the water tank in the loft. Finally the dripping stopped. That all consumed about 3 hours of my afternoon!

Thankfully I was able to make contact with a local plumber I’d used before and he said he’ll come tomorrow at 10am. So hopefully it will get sorted soon!

I finally cleaned up enough and made dinner and was able to relax for the rest of the evening in front of the fire. I was going to watch the skiing from earlier today but I was too wiped. So off to bed I went for an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.