I've just had a bit of luck. I thought I didn't have a blip and was running out of time when I remembered I took this one when we came up from the valley this afternoon for some supplies and for Mr isbi to attend a meeting. 
It's the smoke from the Gospers Mountain Fire (blipped by hobbs on Sunday). 
It's likely to cause a lot of havoc to the mountain towns over the next few days with a heatwave and winds forecast. We will probably need to return to Blackheath to defend our house there.
Meanwhile it was much the same in the valley when we left about 2pm. Lots of helicopter activity and the backburns and containment lines they are bulldozing seem to be containing our fire at present.
It's now 10:30pm and we are going to return to the valley for tonight.

BTW, that scar on the cliff to the right of the smoke is a landslide which occurred a couple of years ago. Fortunately it happened during the night as it was above a walking track, which is there no longer.

I can't enter this for Tiny Tuesday as it is an enormous fire, more than 400,000 hectares in size and burning on multiple fronts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.