Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Izzy

My little band of Wild Turkeys was on the patio bright and early - and this time they brought along three friends, all big males (toms).  The males were very skittish and spent most of their time on the lawn between the patio and woods.  Two of the females tucked into the sunflower seeds, managing to hold their ground against a squirrel. This particular hen is lame in one leg, causing her to walk with a distinct limp.  I was happy to see that she got lots of seeds today.  Funnily, I think she is lame on the same side as I am.  Perhaps she also had a rough landing?  Anyway, I've dubbed her Izzy, for no reason other than that I like it.

The snow did not materialize last night; however we are under a cover of ice which is far worse.  The poor birds were slipping on branches that were covered with a quarter inch of ice.  Too cold to melt anything today so this will be around a few days.  Hoping we don't lose any more trees/limbs.  Ugh.

I had a really delightful surprise in the post yesterday.  Some time ago an organization called the Aldo Leopold Foundation contacted me about using an image of mine in their 2020 calendar.  They do a lot of great work in wildlife conservation so I happily donated the image (see HERE on Flickr).  Well, the calendar arrived yesterday and I have to tell you that seeing my image as the full page for July was very exciting!  See a quick shot in Extra.  Very chuffed!  I also got a  check in the mail this week for another image that is being published by an educational publication.  

Staying close to home today and inside since it is cold and icy out there. 

Over and out...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.