Star Flyer

Early start and a long day.  I did get out of the office to pay a visit to the post office at lunchtime and for a meeting at the Parliament, which was really useful.  I don’t often say that about meetings!  About two minutes after I got back to the office, it was evacuated.  I believe a suspicious package was found.  We stood around for a while not really knowing what was happening, then people started to disappear.  It was cold and getting dark, so I eventually decided to head for a  train too.  Luckily I had brought my bag with me.  There were quite a few people who had left the office with nothing, their keys, phones, wallets etc. all still in the building that we were not able to access.  I believe access to the building was restored around 6.30pm. 

It was only when I started walking to the station that I realised just how cold I was, my feet in particular were frozen.  I had just missed a train, but just kept walking to keep warm.

I came home via the supermarket, made tea and got down to some wrapping and card writing.  TT appeared much later, having been out for dinner and drinks with friends.

This reminds me of something from War of the Worlds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.