Flooded West Sussex

Normally the view from my middle sister's garden in West Sussex is of fields, grazing cattle, and a wee stream. It was somewhat different today with a vast - and growing - lake just beyond the end of the lawn. Our journey over to the house was also rather tricky because my father-in-law decided that the best route there would be through Pulborough. If we had read as far as page 11 in The Times this morning, we would have known better than to attempt such folly!

Once safely at our destination, however, we all had a great time. My nephew Paddy and his girlfriend cooked us all Halloumi shakshuka for lunch, then afterwards they organised games for all who were willing to play (everyone apart from my middle sister and my niece). After a couple of rounds of Empire and Linkee, we took a walk along the lane to the church, and then the four of us returned to my in-laws' house. Tonight we are eating out at the yacht club (as if we need any more food!)

My main blip is the view from the upstairs deck of my sister's house.

My first extra shows all the lunchtime guests: L to R my brother-in-law Richard, my niece Ailish, my nephew's girlfriend Caitlin, my middle sister, my nephew Paddy, my brother-in-law Mark (husband of my middle sister and father of Paddy and Ailish), Mr hazelh, my mother-in-law, and my father-in-law.

My second extra shows my mother-in-law and brother-in-law Mark having fun in the first round of Empire.

Exercise today: another dismal day (7333 steps). I dread to think how much weight I have put on over the past couple of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.