The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Copper, wool and stationery

Apparently it's my 7th blipfoto anniversary. This took me by surprise, as I started blipping in July 2012! I've fallen far behind on daily blips and commenting. Thanks to all who visit, leave comments, and to the team that keep it all going, for posterity. Our recordings will make great social history.

I looked up "seven year anniversary" and apparently the traditional gifts are copper and wool, while the modern interpretation is desk sets/stationery. Thanks to my exhaustive scouting around Stroud on a sunny day, I managed to find copper and stationery combined in one item. Wool is always to hand.

From Google:

What Is the 7-Year Anniversary Gift?

Traditional: Copper and Wool

Traditionally, the seventh anniversary gift is represented by copper and wool. Copper is seen as a durable metal that, according to Greek mythology, attracts love and protects against evil. Wool, on the other hand, symbolizes warmth and comfort. Together, these materials represent your strong and loving marriage after seven years together. 

Modern: Desk Sets and Stationery

Desk sets and stationery have become modern adaptation of the seventh anniversary  anniversary gift. They represent the love and pride couples have for each other’s work.



In the morning, I got a lift to town and bumbled around doing some not-very -mportant tasks. Music was playing in the farmers' market, and I chanced upon an old friend. We had coffee together, which we haven't done for years. She is very frail now, but I'd forgotten that she is in her 70s. It seems only a couple of years ago that I was helping her prepare for her 50th birthday party!

Back home, all is not exactly calm and bright, but we are getting there in terms of Christmas preparations. I do love the sparkling lights in every window in our street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.