Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Christmas Eve

(26/12/19)

Last chance to get ready for the big day tomorrow... G went shopping for the last bits for lunch and I finished the cleaning. BAD time for the cleaner to be away, but hey-ho!

I called the Landlord's rep about the big sign. Apparently it might be something we can't contest and it will come down to the good sense of the restaurant owner to take it down in order to maintain good neighbourly relations! I was so disappointed, but you can't let your day be ruined... I also called the liquor store to enquire about the Guinness. He is willing to do an exchange, but not a refund.

We ventured bout in the evening. One of the largest churches here has rented out a hall at the Exhibition Centre to hold a special Christmas Eve event. They've been doing it for a few years, so I thought it was time to check it out. I have to say, I was really impressed. Firstly, it was free for all; a completely open invitation to anyone interested. The production was so sleek, it felt like a show, but it wasn't. It was more of a worship service. They even handed out cookies to everyone who attended!

As we were in the area, we decided to check out an old haunt from the 1990s. The Capri Italian Grill was a restaurant I took G to on her first visit - all the way back in 1992. I couldn't believe it when we walked in. It looked and felt the same, but not old, and the food was just as good. Amazing.

We were supposed to go to the Midnight Service at our old church, but changed our mind at the last minute, and went to the Last Exit instead for a spice tea. Our little Santa Camel came along for the ride and wanted to try out a few things. :)

We have had a few remarkably clear and beautiful days; long may they continue. It is also cooler in the evenings. I am glad I can still do some "firsts" even after living here all my life! :)

May I take this opportunity to wish all my blip buddies a very Merry and Blessed Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.