Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Boxing Day

Last night as we often do at Christmas time, we watched Love Actually for the umpteenth time which was the perfect way to end Christmas Day. I do think that it is my most favourite movie, and despite being 16 years old it still makes me laugh and cry and seems fresh and funny.

We had planned a Boxing Day walk today but the weather was not great, it has rained all day. Gavin and I took Xena for a walk in the woods when it was raining lightly, but it got worse after that so we abandoned that plan.

We leave early tomorrow morning to go to Switzerland - Gavin, my brother and Xena are driving, leaving home at about 3am. The rest of us, except Lynn, are flying to Zurich and will get the train up to the mountains. Poor Lynn is flying back home to SA as she never got her Schengen visa in time to be allowed to enter Switzerland. 

So today was all about tidying up - I took down the Christmas tree as it was already looking quite dry and withered and I don't want to do this task when we return from holiday. There is now a big empty space where the tree used to stand! It took ages to clean up all the dropped pine needles but everything is all tidy again. We have packed, cleared out the fridge and managed to get on top of laundry and ironing too. 

The rest of the day has been spent lazing around - I enjoyed watching the Call the Midwife Christmas special, it was so lovely to see the beautiful scenery of the Outer Hebrides.

This is to be our last group photo, as Lynn won't be with us for any photos in Switzerland. I only took two photos and the chances of getting everyone looking their best is slim with only 2 shots. Anyway, it's a record for us of our time together. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.