Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Derelict...

After calling my mom to wish her a Happy Birthday (love you, mom), Hubs and I took off for a ride.  We headed north to an area where there are usually harriers (marsh hawks) in the winter, only to find nothing.  Then we just meandered in the car.  I mentioned to Hubs that, since the possibility of photographing a harrier in flight was out, maybe we could look for something derelict for the Derelict Sunday challenge.

Hubs, who spent his formative teen years in this area, knew right away where to go...to this incredible old place that used to be an amusement park, called Gingerbread Castle.  This particular view is actually the Wheatsworth Mill that was part of the Castle property.  You can see through the broken window that the roof of the building has caved and one can now see daylight.  The mortar is green - some sort of fungus I guess?  Anyway, the whole thing was really visually so interesting and I ended up taking quite a few photos.  

I've posted a few more images on my FB page which you should be able to access HERE - don't miss the last image of the scariest Humpty Dumpty ever!

Thanks for the kind comments yesterday.  I'm working through the depression.  Just need to make time to get outside even if I can't go walking as I'd like.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.