Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Derelict - DS225

I find that when my mojo is missing, it helps me to try something different. And one of the many things I love about Blip is that there are always challenges going that take me way outside of my usual swim-lane. I think the weekly Derelict Sunday is one of my favorite challenges, in part because it has so many interpretations. Which is what led me to today’s image.

My Hubs has a large workshop and workbench in the basement along with a huge cabinet filled with things he can’t get rid of, including many of his dad’s things. Always a good place to look for interesting odds and ends to photograph. In today’s case, I came across this old cigar box that contains some of FIL’s fly-tying supplies. I don’t ever recall my FIL smoking cigars so not sure where he picked up the box, but’s it’s old and worn and somewhat derelict. For fun, I ran it through some rather drastic edits, playing up the dereliction aspect. Kinda fun.

Today is my mom’s birthday, so we had a nice chat on the phone this morning. They were headed into Portland for a walk today and then a quiet take-out dinner at home later. Happy birthday, Mom - I’m saving up a bunch of hugs which will delivered when we can finally see each other again!

Kindness, love, safety. And chocolate.

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.